12 Books worth looking forward to in 2012!

2 Jan


A new year for some, is like a checkpoint, a pit stop created to help them to look back, assess, review, derive conclusions and redraw plans and blueprints to chart their next year or beyond. To sum it up, Resolutions. One of the many common resolutions I know of is ‘This year I will take up reading seriously, I will take out more time from my oh-so busy schedule of doing nothing and eating to read.’  So this is me helping you to keep atleast one of your resolutions.

I have tried to compile a list of books I am looking forward to releasing in the year 2012. So read on…

1) The Sins of the Father (Clifton Chronicles 2) – by Jeffrey Archer

For many, Jeffrey Archer’s writing is too ‘mainstream’ or ‘Hollywood-ish’. Admittedly I liked his earlier works far more, ‘Kane and Abel’, “The Prodigal Daughter’ to name a few. The Sins of the Father is part 2 of the six part Clifton Family Saga. The first one like most of Archer’s recent books is a good read. Nothing more, nothing less. The story starts off right where ‘Only Time Will Tell’ ends. Even though to me it seemed the conclusion of part 1 was rather forced so as to accommodate part 2, yet I cannot take away the fact that I am hooked.

2) The Dark Tower: The Wind Through The Keyhole – by Stephen King

I have always wanted to read The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King, but for some reason never did. It is something like ‘Star Wars’ phenomenon. For me, I had heard about Star Wars and how great it was, but it was because of the prequels releasing during ‘my time’ of growing up did I actually decide to watch every one of them. I think same is the case here. Before I came to know about The Dark Tower Series, all of the seven books had released. But with this book Stephen King has again ignited those old forgotten sparks. This being eighth book of the series and chronologically set between book four and five.

3) In One Person – by John Irving

That John Irving writes on controversial topics is an understatement. He touches upon sensitive topics like drug addiction, abortion, hypocrisy in religion, incest, adultery, rape to name just a few. But this is not why he is known as a good author. His writing is compelling and intelligent. He is back with a story of a 60 year old bisexual man reflecting on his youth.

 

4) The New Republic – by Lionel Shriver

I really enjoyed reading ‘The Post-Birthday World‘ by Lionel Shriver and it is not even her best work. The New Republic is a comedy about Terrorism set in Portugal. Now the subject seems appealing to me and I know that she will deliver. Excited about this one!

 
5) The Operators – by Michael Hastings

The Operators is a look at the war in Afghanistan by the journalist who wrote the 2010 Rolling Stone article about the war that ultimately led to the firing of General Stanley McChrystal. This book is sure to spark a debate of its own.

 

6) The Revelations – by Alex Preston
To be honest I have no idea about the author, never read any of his books and neither heard of him. Yet the blurb of the book does make me want to read it. ‘Four university friends looking for meaning in a directionless world are drawn into the Course, a religious movement led by a charismatic priest. It seems to offer everything they are searching for: a close-knit group of bright, thoughtful, beautiful people. But behind the happy smiles lie dark desires, terrible secrets.

 

7) The Flight of Gemma Hardy – by Margot Livesey
This is supposed to be a modern day take of the classic ‘Jane Eyre‘. The book is set in 1960’s Scotland about a girl from Iceland. Early Reviews of the book have been very positive. Need I say more?

 

8) Lunatics – by Dave Barry and Alan Zweibel
Dave Barry and Alan Zweibel, both well known humorists, join forces to help us start 2012 with some comic relief. Lunatics is the story of two men whose paths cross and through a series of escalating events end up running for their lives. There is no way a guy named ‘Zweibel’ is not funny. BUY!

 

9) The Oath Of The Vayuputras – by Amish Tripathi
Who has not heard of the Shiva Trilogy!? The Immortals of Meluha which started the frenzy is neatly written and keeps things pretty tight. I am yet to read The Secret Of The Nagas but I am dying to get my hands on it and I have only heard good things about it. The third installment is a surefire bestseller. DO NOT MISS!

 

10) Last of The Dork Trilogy – by Sidin Vadukut
Another Indian author, another great trilogy. Dork Trilogy takes a satirical dig at the management consulting industry from the point of view of Robin Varghese. I read the first Installment Dork: The Incredible Adventures of Robin ‘Einstein’ Varghese and it is unequivocally one of the most funniest books I have read. Its an easy and fast read, never a dull moment. I am going to read God Save The Dork pretty soon. The yet untitled third installment is expected to release this year.

 

11) Ice Boys & Bell-Bottoms Book 2 – by Krishna Shastri Devulapalli
Ice-Boys In Bell-Bottoms is a growing-up tale set in 1970s Madras (Chennai). Gopi, the protagonist, at that awkward age between 8 and 10, lives in a family full of eccentrics. Gopi navigates his way through school, dealing with school teachers intent on giving him an education, making friends and, most importantly, experiencing his first crushes. The first book was very well received, the second book is expected and anticipated this year depicting the next phase of Gopi’s life, the 1980s.

 

12) No One Is Here Except All of Us – by Ramona Ausubel
One of the most anticipated debut novels. It is described by the author as ‘The book is about a young girl, but it’s also about her whole village. At novel’s opening, the residents acknowledge their own place in history and a war, and the menace that is imminent. To keep out the inevitable and to protect themselves, the villagers decide to begin their world again. Destiny unwritten. Time and history forgotten. Jobs, husbands, a child, are reassigned. There is boundless hope. Still, the real world continues to unfold alongside the imagined one, and, eventually, overtakes it. The new world becomes its own prison.

 

Hope you found atleast some of them worth picking up. If you think I have missed out on any Books please do tell me about it in the comments below. Happy New Year Earthlings!
                                                                                                                                                            ♫This is your life – Switchfoot
15 Responses to “12 Books worth looking forward to in 2012!”

  1. Don Carnagey~Lanier January 2, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Reblogged this on Don's Philosophy on Life.

    • Tushar Chhajed January 2, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks a lot! 🙂

    • Kunal January 3, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks for posting it to your blog. 🙂

  2. K10 January 2, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    Great line up! Glad that i stumbled over here!

    • Tushar Chhajed January 2, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

      Thanks a lot! Please do suggest any more books you think are worth mentioning.

  3. Amish January 3, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Pretty sure you mean Amish Tripathi, though I’m honored. I’m a poet, which is obviously kind of ironic.

    • Tushar Chhajed January 3, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Haha! I am so sorry, No idea how i screwed up so bad. My apologies. Rectified.
      And yes it is ironic that you are a poet. 🙂
      Any place where i can read your work?

      • Amish January 3, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

        Thanks for fixing it up- obviously don’t want to hand out credit to the wrong person!

        Here’s an electronic chapbook from 2008 (there’s a few more recent things online, but I really like these!) http://absentmag.org/issue03/?p=32

      • Tushar Chhajed January 3, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

        Thanks a lot! 🙂 .. will surely go through it.

  4. vinay January 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Even I am waiting for some of the above mentioned books…
    Btw i think you add two of John Grisham’s books too : Calico Joe and Theodore Boone 3

    • Tushar Chhajed January 3, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thank you for commenting and letting me know about Grisham’s books. I do like him too.

      🙂

  5. Shweta January 3, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Interesting line up – I am currently reading secret of the nagas….seems better than the immortals…..

    • Tushar Chhajed January 3, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      Ok, As I mentioned in the post, I am very much looking forward to read Nagas. Hopefully soon enough.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  6. anushreejazzz January 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    What is Clifton Chronicles? Had no idea and Dark Tower series is awesome!
    I also want to read The invention of Hugo Cabaret.

    • Tushar Chhajed January 3, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

      Well Clifton Chronicles is supposed to be a saga of Clifton family spanning World War I and II. I have the first book, tell me if you want.

Leave a Reply

