Comic Con Express: Part II

27 Oct


In between checking out comics, merchandise and girls we managed to get a couple of people to answer a few questions for us. Read on for a first hand account of their experience and reliving of their childhood fantasies:
Read about Part I here.

Damayanti Bhattacharjee:

What motivated you to attend comic con?

I’m not a big comic fan honestly, but I’m a huge ‘Big Bang Theory’ fan. I first heard about comic con in one of the episodes of BBT. Then I heard about this thing happening in Mumbai and I had standing invitations from my friends, so I thought, what the heck! lets do this.

I went to this convention with zero expectations but came back with a huge respect for “comics” in general and Indian animators in particular. It was an eye opening experience for a comic resistant person like me.

Your favorite comic character and why?
My favorite comic character would have to be Batman, maybe because there is a certain aura of darkness associated with him. Or it could be Spiderman, he’s so cute! Even Cat woman is cool. Ahhh I don’t know. Every of them is special in some way or the other.

Childhood nostalgia?
I started out reading a lot of Tinkle, Champak and Chacha Chowdury. I was in absolute awe of Sabu. There was no man stronger than him and no man smarted than Chacha. Suppandi jokes were a rage. Shikari Shambhu, Tantri the Mantri were all lovable.
Next came the ‘Archies’ phase during the teenages. Riverdale was the place to be. Veronica was the epitome of glamor and Betty was the sweet girl next door. I kind of  identified with Archie Andrews, generally good natured but confused kid.
These are the comic books that I still read and enjoy.

Any take always from the comic con? (stuff you bought, your overall experience)
I bought some hand painted book marks. I really wanted a poster of Kurt Cobain, but it was sold out and the T-shirt that I liked didn’t have my size. I’m gonna order all of that from their online store though.

Looking forward to the next Comic Con where I will be dressed like Batman.

Aditya Belpathak:

What motivated you to attend comic con?
I heard about ‘Comic-Con’ for the first time on an episode of Futurama, and then in the Big Bang Theory. The idea of a convention with a ‘gazillion’ comic stalls, and where you can dress up as your favourite comic character is something that I’ve dreamt of many times. The minute my friend mentioned that Comic-Con is coming to Mumbai, I wanted to attend it!

Your favorite comic character and why?
Of the numerous characters that I like, none have appealed to me as much as Captain Haddock from the Adventures of Tintin. The bungling seafarer and his shenanigans are definitely worth laughing over. Reading the parts where he doles out his standard ‘choicest expletives’ such as ‘Ten Thousand Thundering Typhoons’and ‘Billions and Billions of Blue Blistering Barnacles’ always brings a bright smile to my face.

Childhood nostalgia
I used to read Tintin comics over and over again, and then some more, they captivated my imagination to a great extent. As a kid, I always wanted to live at Marlinspike Hall (the residence of captain Haddock) with the Captain, Tintin, Snowy and Cadbury (the Captain’s butler), and also witness the blunders of Thomson and Thomson. I used to admire the sheer genius of Professor Calculus and wanted to be a scientist, just like him (including the absent-mindedness), so much so that I actually purchased a pendulum!
I lived the thrills of Tintin’s adventures through the comics; the narrative stories, coupled with the vivid pictures added to the experience, which I always will cherish in my memory.

Any take always from the comic con? (stuff you bought, your overall experience)
The things that I purchased from the convention:
2 t-shirts (one of Joker and another of Sholay artwork)
1 poster of Darth Vader holding a Lightsaber!

Sosha

http://niceandnew.wordpress.com/

What motivated you to attend comic con?
Not a serious comics fan, but I knew about rad new comics being published though I have only read the older one likes Amar Chitra Katha, Tinkle and Tintin. I had promised the Comic Con organisers that I would attend, so Sunday afternoon saw me posing with Chacha Chaudhary and someone from Ghost Rider. My friend and I almost approached Andhi Maa for a picture but beat a hasty retreat when we saw the angry look on her face.
Your favorite comic character and why?
The best characters I can recall from school days are Billoo, Pinky,
Suppandi, Ariel the Mermaid, Shikari Shambhu, Peter Pan and the people from Archie comics. I had several of these comics, all of these which I have passed on to cousins/friends, save a few Amar Chitra Katha ones. Those, I don’t think I’ll ever part with!
Apart from the free bookmarks I got (!), I terribly loved a large poster of Kurt Cobain, but the people over at the Bombay Merch’s stall said that they had run out of stock. As far as buying comics goes, my wallet isn’t ready to accommodate the hobby yet :/
I loved people who sported costumes at the fest, and I’m definitely going dressed as someone next year. Ariel the Mermaid, maybe!

Amey Kanse(fellow blogger):
What motivated you to attend comic con?
I haven’t read comics in ages and wanted to reconnect and relive my childhood memories.
Your favorite comic character and why?

The fights between Sabu and Raaka were legendary. And the best part was—Whenever Sabu gets angry, a volcano erupts at some place! Combine that with Chacha Chaudhary’s brain that works faster than a computer, all villains got some serious ass whopping.

Childhood nostalgia

The comic and children books I read while growing up—Chacha Chaudhary, Tinkle, Amar Chitra Katha, Chandamama, Champak, Agniputra Abhay, Asterix, and the occasional Archie’s Digests.

Any take always from the comic con? (stuff you bought, your overall experience)

Bought a lot of comics as seen in the above pic. Bought a huge southpark poster and a kickass book—The itch you can’t scratch, written by one of savita bhabi’s creators. The book is a must read.

I also wanted some Tees but my sizes were sold out or not available. I plan to order them online.

<cheesy> Thanks to comic con, I have rekindled my love for comics <cheesy/>

3 Responses to “Comic Con Express: Part II”

  1. Sosha October 30, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Whenever Sabu gets angry, a volcano erupts at some place!
    Had totally forgotten that!

    • Kunal October 30, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      How could you?? That was some epic shit…remember the villian..Gobar Singh!! lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Comic Con Express: Part II « As We Think Is… | The League of Honor - October 27, 2011

    […] Originally posted here: Comic Con Express: Part II « As We Think Is… […]

Leave a Reply

