My first dress!

27 Aug

I study fashion design and this post is about one of my assignment.In History of design and fashion class we tried to go back to the origin of clothes and understand how clothes slowly developed.We then started studying the Vedic period.

The women in the Vedic period draped 3 basic pieces of cloth,the Antarya was the lower garment,Uttariya was the upper and kaya was the belt.Paridi was the breast band like a bando.The style of draping varied from lady to lady.The popular styles were The Kacha style,Hathi sondaka,Macha valaka (inspired by fish),Chatur karnaka.

The assignment was to drape a garment inspired by the Vedic costume.I was to drape a garment of one of my classmates and then she would drape on me.The day arrived and we were given size 8 dress forms.We could either drape on ourselves or another person or the dress form.Since we were given only an hour I decided to drape on the dress form.

!

So I made this!We were not allowed to cut the cloth or use any pins.For the the dress I used three separate pieces sticking to the Vedic style.I used about 6 metres of white muslin and a little piece of green muslin.I accessorized with a neck piece I bought at hampi and flowers.

Details

Details

I had picked put these pretty flowers and sewn them into armlets as I was under the idea I was going to drape a garment around a friend.I finished draping the dress on the dress form and really wanted to use the flower strings so I tied it on the waist style tape on the dress form and let it fall on the pleats of the dress.

The back

We weren’t taught draping..we were just supposed to explore and play with the style.Now we are being taught draping and it’s killing me! I just learnt how to drape the basic front and back bodice..it went horribly wrong the first couple of times.I got it almost right just yesterday!:)

Hope you like the post!

13 Responses to “My first dress!”

  1. Prathik John August 27, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    :O Awe-struck! you r gonna get famous!

  2. Alina August 27, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    “We weren’t thought draping”
    You mean “taught”?

    • poojitha August 27, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      yes taught! Thanks for the correction 🙂

  3. Yash August 27, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    That’s great! You can really put the materials at hand to good use! 😀
    Please read my latest blog post…it’s a tech blog. Please promote it on Indivine, if you like it! 🙂
    You can access it here: The Tablet Revolutionary

  4. confusedyuppie August 27, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    a good start-but wont the flowers dry up and wilt?

    • poojitha August 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      They will,but i just used them as an accessory and they are not a part of the dress but of the costume/look 🙂

  5. Sosha October 6, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Ooh! Damn neat! I really love the twist at the back. Come to think of it, I haven’t really seen that on anyone. And the neckpiece… fab.

    • poojitha October 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      Shank you sosha!

      • Sosha October 6, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

        Oh, you needn’t shank me, really.

  6. poojitha October 6, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    sorry! THANK yoou!

Leave a Reply

