IT’S A BIG DEAL

20 Jun

SELECTING A THESIS TOPIC:

Well mine didn’t take too long. When in your final year of architecture, the only thing that matters is your dissertation and you give your best to this last battle of a five year war called B.Arch.

I knew what I wanted – something fancy, the kind that people would be impressed by. But most of whom I’ve mentioned it to didn’t really get it so my efforts were pointless. I did not bother changing it either because it sounded pretty good to me and my guide.My inspiration for this subject was the ‘Garden of Cosmic Speculation’ in Scotland.

THE GARDEN OF COSMIC SPECULATION: RECREATING EDEN ON EARTH

The garden is inspired by science and mathematics ,with sculptures and landscaping on these themes, such as blackholes and fractals.It’s a private property hence open to public once in a year and built by American landscape architect CHARLES JENCKS. He and his wife,an expert on Chinese gardens designed a landscape that would bridge the worlds of art,nature and science.It represents the story of the creation of the universe.

‘A garden should represent a puzzle to be fathomed,some things very clear and others veiled.’

-CHARLES JENCKS

Snail shaped grass mounds

A sculpture of the DNA HELIX

The site is landscaped in the shape of a nude reclining woman

THE PERKS OF HAVING A VAGUE TOPIC:

Most of my classmates are already bored with their thesis subjects and I don’t blame them with their dead end topics. On the other hand when your topic is as vague as a centre for cosmic speculation –

  1. Your thesis guide is impressed.
  2. Juror might not ask too many questions because he does not get it either until you simplify it for him- then he too is impressed.
  3. Keeps one guessing (including the one who’s chosen it) as to what it really is.

Now when I come to think of it, I was never interested in astronomy (I have been interested in aliens though) and the working of the universe. But I like to show-off and that’s what keeps me going with my research. Also to prove how far I could go with my analysis, how many possibilities I could come up with and how well I could make something as complicated as a ‘CENTRE FOR COSMIC SPECULATION’ sound like an ‘ASTRONOMICAL CENTRE’.

What about design? I haven’t figured that one out yet but what I do know is that it’s going to be something really FANCY!!!!! After all………..

‘It don’t mean a thing,

if it ain’t got that swing’

– Thomas ‘Fats’ Waller

(legendary jazz pianist)

6 Responses to “IT’S A BIG DEAL”

  1. balagopal June 20, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    very interesting.

  2. priyanka ribeiro June 20, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    well more than the exam point of view , i guess its most important to always do something different from the masses and establish a reputation for urself for being an out of the box thinker!!!!!!!!! well done nanno- THEO RIBEIRO

  3. Ayishwariya B June 20, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    thanx daddy and pinky

  4. Sumeet June 21, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    The topic is very interesting, you can also refer
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_spiral

  5. jansdsouza@yahoo.co.in June 21, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    interesting…all the best in your research!

  6. Ayishwariya B June 22, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    thanx jan and sumeet and thanks for the link great help

Leave a Reply

